Yankuba Minteh and Jesper Ceesay earn a call-up, whiles Hamza & Chuka return


By: Baboucarr Fallaboweh 

Tom Saintfiet has named his 23-man squad to face the Democratic Republic of Congo and Liberia on the 17th and 20th of November in an international friendly game.

Vejle midfielder Hamza Barry is back following his full recovery. The former Hajduk Split midfielder was named in the South Sudan & Congo Brazzaville qualifiers but withdrew due to unforeseen circumstances.

Hamza, 28, last match for the Scorpions came in the home draw against DR Congo in 2019.

Elfsborg defender Maudo Jarjue who missed the Nations cup in Cameroon due to a knee injury, is also named in the 23-man squad.

Debutants Yankuba Minteh (Odense BK), Jesper Ceesay (AIK) Alieu Fadera (Zulte Waregem) were all handed invitations following their fantastic 2022/23 season campaign.

The AIK midfielder played in the double leg against Burkina Faso for the U23, Whereas Yankuba Minteh has been in explosive form since joining Odense BK.

Tom met the youngster in Odense’s game against Midtjylland on Monday, which earned him being named on the Team of the Week twice and winning fans Man of the Match on three consecutive matches.

Alfusainey Jatta, who brought his goal tally to four goals last weekend, will miss the turkey camp to have a knee operation. As a result, the midfielder didn’t feature in RFS’s final Europa Conference league match against Fiorentina. 

18-year-old Yankuba Minteh agent Bakary Bojang told the TAT sports desk that Minteh’s inclusion should be a learning curve because there is no pressure on the winger.

“Tom has shown lots of interest in him. He is performing in a top league in Denmark and deserves the chance to prove himself to the national team; I know it’s vital for him. That has been his dream for the longest time. This will boost his confidence, morals, and everything. The experience is good for him because he is a young player and can learn a lot,” He said. 


Babouccar Gaye

Modou Jobe

Ebrima Jarju


Saidy Janko

Omar Colley         

James Gomez  

 Maudo Jarjue

Ibou Touray

 Muhammed Sanneh

Sulayman Bojang 

Ismaila Jome


Hamza Barry

Sainey Njie

Abdoulie Sanyang

Ablie Jallow  

Sulayman Marreh

Alieu Fadera

Jesper ceesay

Saikou Touray


Musa Barrow

Yankuba Minteh 

Assan Ceesay       

Muhammed Badamosi

Lamin Jallow


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here